You are here
Home > Music News > Mark Knopfler – Mark Knopfler Announces New Album ‘Privateering’ Out September 3Rd 2012

Mark Knopfler – Mark Knopfler Announces New Album ‘Privateering’ Out September 3Rd 2012


Mark Knopfler, who was recently presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at this year’s Ivor Novellos, will release his eighth solo album, PRIVATEERING, on Mercury Records on September 3rd, 2012.


This is the artist’s first double album, each song an original. They cover a wide range of locations and characters from both sides of the Atlantic and move through a number of genres which include several new blues originals. PRIVATEERING is a soulful and heartfelt collection masterfully performed by a group of world class players.


In addition to what has become Knopfler’s long-time band, hand-picked guest aces include Kim Wilson (harp) of the Fabulous Thunderbirds, Tim O’Brien (mandolin), singer Ruth Moody of The Wailin’ Jennys, Paul Franklin (pedal steel) and Scotland’s Phil Cunningham (accordion).

Twenty new titles were recorded at the artist’s British Grove Studios in London with the following players: Richard Bennett (guitar), Jim Cox (piano) Guy Fletcher (keyboards), John McCusker (fiddle), Mike McGoldrick (whistle and flute), Glenn Worf (bass) and Ian Thomas (drums). Knopfler was assisted by co-producers Guy Fletcher and Chuck Ainlay.


Mark Knopfler is one of the most critically and commercially successful artists of all time. He has already sold in excess of 135 million records, and has received countless awards and honours including an OBE and several Grammy Awards.


Disc 1

1. Redbud Tree

2. Haul Away

3. Don’t Forget Your Hat

4. Privateering

5. Miss You Blues

6. Corned Beef City

7. Go, Love

8. Hot Or What

9. Yon Two Crows

10. Seattle


Disc 2

1. Kingdom Of Gold

2. Got To Have Something

3. Radio City Serenade

4. I Used To Could

5. Gator Blood

6. Bluebird

7. Dream Of The Drowned Submariner

8. Blood And Water

9. Today Is Okay

10. After The Beanstalk


Editor of LLR since 2005

Leave a Reply